Alert! Special Church history dates in 2016

I’m the music chairperson in our unit, and today I started work on the music planning for my ward 2016.   Since I came on, the bishopric has been planning out the year’s sacrament meeting themes during the past few months of the year. This makes it easy for me as music chairperson to work with the choir director, organist, and others to prepare special music during the year.  Each year I mark significant dates on our planning spreadsheet to help the bishopric and ward council plan sacrament meeting themes and to help me choose music of significance to those dates.  I like to choose church history events that occur on or about that Sunday.

2016 is going to be a fun year for sacrament meeting planning!  All of these important dates occur on Sundays in 2016:

  • Sunday, April 17 – Organization of the Relief Society, actual date
  • Sunday, May 15 – Aaronic Priesthood Restoration, actual date
  • Sunday, July 24 – Saints enter the Salt Lake Valley/Pioneer Day, actual date
  • Sunday, August 21 – Thomas S. Monson birthday, actual date
  • Sunday, December 25 – Christmas Day

For my unit, I also include these dates for our planning:

  • Sunday, February 14 – Valentine’s Day (US), actual date
  • Sunday, May 8 – Mother’s Day (US)
  • Sunday, May 22 – Melchizedek Priesthood Restoration (late May 1829)
  • Sunday, June 19 – Father’s Day (US)
  • Sunday, June 26 – Martyrdom of Prophet Joseph Smith (June 27, 1844)
  • Sunday, July 3 – Fast Sunday/US Independance Day (July 4, 1776)
  • Sunday, November 13 – Organization of YW (November 18, 1869)
  • Sunday, November 20 – DC Temple dedication (Nov 24, 1972)

Leaders don’t always (or even often) use these dates to theme sacrament meetings, but I provide them in case they’d like to.

Free Instant Download

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *